SEROXAT AND OTHER SSRIs

News and Views on the SSRI Group of Drugs

  • THE LIES ABOUT SEROXAT/PAXIL AND OTHER SSRIs

  • STOP the Lies: Join the Cause: Click pic below

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 7 other followers

  • Monthly Archive showing # of posts

Seroxat Journey

Posted by shutah on August 1, 2007

Given that I have not really explained why I have such passion for this subject, I thought it only fair to provide readers with a brief ‘signature’ of my own Seroxat journey. So, here it is. 


1996 20mg Seroxat for migraines?
1997 Divorced & Doolally
1999 Escaped to US
1999 Completely barmy
2003 Came back to UK
Back to US
Back to UK again!!
Tried weaning to 10mg – OMG!!! Scary time
Back up to 20mg. Ahhhh calm again
2004 10mg again – MANIC!! Murderous!! Frightened!!
2005 put up to 30mg – wahay!! Fairyland!!
2006 down to 20mg
2007 still on 20mg – too darn scared to try again.

I wonder if this is a similar scenario for any of you?

3 Responses to “Seroxat Journey”

  1. truthman30 said

    Yup, The Seroxat Nightmare seems to affect us all the same way..

    Chec out this new Seroxat Video On Youtube

    GSK-JP Garnier-Seroxat-Avandia

    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=CsQlmB6qPCY

    And more here :

    http://ie.youtube.com/user/crystaldove

  2. Toria Page said

    I’ve been on Seroxat for 6 years, and I HATE it. If I take a tablet late it’s head-shocks and feeling so far-away from everyone, sickness, sight problems, not to mention the inner bleakness which seems worse than any depression i originally suffered..it’s such a fickle mistress- isn’t it scary how quickly it’ll lift the fog but when you try and escape you’re in a walking-sleeping-living nightmare. No-one told me it would take over my life. I feel my GP gave it me in good faith, but Glaxo-Smith-Slime have hired good copywriters for the blurb as it all sounds positively fluffy on the packet- none of the potential side-effects mentioned give any credence to the crushing knock-on effects in your day-to-day life.
    My heart goes out to all of you sufferers…I’ve been there at 3 in the morning while your brain crackles and pops and you try to behave normally at work when you’ve had one hours hallucinatory shut-eye
    Wish me luck as I’m trying for the 3rd time to wean myselfs off the b******s!
    Love and keep strong X

  3. shutah said

    Hiya Toria,

    Thanks for sharing your Seroxat comments here. I’m determined to get the message into the public domain – as many others are also trying to do.

    If you’re in the UK, can I ask you to add your signature to the Seroxat Petition (link at top right of this page). Only 2 weeks to go before it closes and I’m making a real push to try and raise the number to 500. I even emailed Robbie Williams today to try and get him to sign too and bring more media attention to the issues surrounding the clinical trial by GSK (GlaxoSmithSlime)!!

    With regard to your weaning off, keep your chin up and go really slow … Paxil Progress advises slow and gradual tapering, which seems to work better. I think you’re very brave to try again, and hope that one day I’ll have the balls to do the same.

    Wishing you all the luck in the world.

    Kind regards
    Shutah

Leave a Reply

 
